Will there be anyone there when they come for you?

They came first for the janitors,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a janitor.

Then they came for the UNO Five,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t arrested.

Then they came for the instructors,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t an instructor.

Then they came for the faculty,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a faculty member.

Then they came for a few majors,
and I didn’t speak up because it wasn’t my major.

Then they came for whole departments,
and I didn’t speak up because it wasn’t my department.

Then they came for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up.

-adapted from a Poem about the inactivity of German intellectuals following the Nazi rise to power.

STAND UP FOR EACH OTHER:
-Demand to know why administrators are allowing students to be arrested and charged with felonies for a simple protest.
-Demand an end to outrageous administrative salaries like Joe Lombardi’s $650,000 a year while at the same classes are cut.
-Demand an end to budget cuts to higher education before your major is the next one to go.
-Demand more from the UNO administration in standing up against these cuts. Demand they come to Baton Rouge with students to protest at the Capitol. Demand they fund buses to get there. Demand they call a campus-wide strike to protest the cuts.
-Demand your professors speak out for students.
-Demand fellow students speak out for professors.
-Demand we all speak out for the staff, who haven’t received their annual raise in the last 2 years, and who have faced increased workloads as administrators cut back on the number of janitors.
Don’t let our state government destroy our future as a city and as a state by destroying UNO. More education today means a better future tomorrow.

Share

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Will there be anyone there when they come for you?

  1. Death of the Liberal Class says:

Leave a Reply

